I would like to invite you to a free screening of the film.
New Documentary Highlights Jury Pay Legislation

In 2021, I successfully championed AB 1452, which allows San Francisco to pay lower-income jurors a higher stipend in criminal trials. The two-year pilot program is testing whether raising the daily rate from $15 to $100 would diversify juries. Studies show when juries are more reflective of the communities they serve, they spend more time in deliberations and are less likely to presume guilt, which help defendants get a fair trial.

This program is now the subject of a short documentary, "Judging Juries," by Peabody award-winning filmmaker Abby Ginzberg. I would like to invite you to a free screening of the film. Afterwards, there will be a panel discussion featuring those on the front lines of the fight for more fair and diverse juries, including me, San Francisco Public Defender Mano Raju, San Francisco Treasurer José Cisneros, San Francisco District Attorney Brooke Jenkins, a former juror Gamage Carter, and retired Alameda County Judge Brenda Harbin-Forte. A light reception for all guests will follow.

WHEN: Tuesday, October 3

    5 p.m. - Doors Open
    5:30 - 6:30 p.m. - Documentary Sneak Preview and Panel
    6:30 - 7 p.m. - Reception with light refreshments

WHERE: Manny's - 3092 16th Street, San Francisco

Please RSVP by Monday, September 25. Space is limited.

This documentary comes at a great time. With the success of San Francisco's pilot program, I am working to expand it to a few more counties this legislative session under AB 881.

Hope you can make it!


Assemblymember, 19th District

P.S. If you can't make it to the screening, perhaps you can attend my other events. Check out my website for additional opportunities to connect.


x website Contact
Capitol Office:
State Capitol
P.O. Box 942849
Sacramento, CA 94249-0019
Tel: (916) 319-2019
Fax: (916) 319-2119
District Office:
455 Golden Gate Avenue, Suite 14600
San Francisco, CA 94102
Tel: (415) 557-2312
Fax: (415) 557-1178
© 2024 California State Assembly